top of page

The Classroom and the School


This weeks learning space definitely got me thinking.

My first block prac in my second year was the most memorable placement I have had. The students were beautiful and well-behaved, the staff were all so welcoming, the grounds were lovely and my supervising teacher was incredibly supportive. But, the one thing that I remember so well was the classroom. It was AMAZING! From the posters on the wall to the maths equipment stored in the cupboards - there was a place for everything. Even a casual teacher who came in commented on how perfect this room was.

Ever since that placement, I have started to picture what my future classroom will look like. Will I have decorative posters on the wall? What will the colour scheme be? Will there be seating arrangements? How will I make sure my students learn?

This week really resonated with me for so many reasons. It is so important to think not only about the looks of your classroom, but also the functionality of it and how it will be a comfortable and safe environment for your students to be in.

In another post I will show you some of my favourite online teacher blogs that I follow for inspiration - they give me real classroom envy!


bottom of page